

Resolution # <u>01-04-04-07</u> Adopting the Tribal Arbitration Code ORIGINAL

- WHEREAS, the Tribe's status as a federally-recognized Indian tribe was reaffirmed and restored by Congress pursuant to Public Law 103-324, 108 Stat. 2156 (25 U.S.C. §1300k et seq.); and
- WHEREAS, the Tribe adopted a new Constitution, pursuant to a vote of the membership on May 27, 1998, which Constitution became effective upon its approval by the Assistant Secretary-Indian Affairs on July 10, 1998; and
- WHEREAS, the Tribe is entering into agreements for the Little River Casino Resort expansion project which require the development of an Arbitration Code; and
- WHEREAS, the Tribe has entered into contracts which include arbitration clauses and will potentially enter into contracts which include arbitration clauses in the future; and
- WHEREAS, it is important that the Tribe have an Arbitration Code that sets forth the requirements for entering into agreements which contain arbitration clauses; and

WHEREAS, the Tribal Council has reviewed a proposed Tribal Arbitration Code for adoption; and

WHEREAS, the Tribal Council finds that adoption of the Tribal Arbitration Code requires creation of a specialty court for purposes of implementation of this technical and complex litigation, which includes litigation under the Tribal Uniform Commercial Code also proposed for adoption;

NOW THEREFORE IT IS RESOLVED THAT the Tribal Council of the Little River Band of Ottawa Indians hereby adopt the Tribal Arbitration Code, Ordinance # 01-300-02, for immediate implementation.

CERTIFICATE OF ADOPTION

I do hereby certify that the foregoing resolution was duly presented and adopted by the Tribal Council with 8 FOR, 0 AGAINST, / ABSENT, and 0 ABSTAINING, at a Regular Session of the Little River Band of Ottawa Indians Tribal Council held at the Little River Band Community Center on <u>APRIL 4</u>, 2001, with a quorum being present for such vote.

Lisa M. McCatty, Council Recorder

Joan Spalding, Council Speaker Attest:

SERVING KENT, LAKE, MANISTEE, MASON, MUSKEGON, NEWAYGO, OCEANA, OTTAWA AND WEXFORD COUNTIES